The Balance of Souls

Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is part of it.  And in the church God has appointed first of all apostles, second prophets, third teachers, then workers of miracles, also those having gifts of healing, those able to help others, those with gifts of administration, and those speaking in different kinds of tongues.  1 Corinthians 12:27, 28.

 I find it rather curious when a person with great a gifting in one area gets impatient with those who lack such a gifted-ness.  We are the body of Christ, different parts of one unit, which means if I’m a foot, I can’t pick things up like a hand or see things like an eye.

In high school I took Geometry from a teacher who could do complex math equations in his sleep, spouting off theorems and the like with barely any effort.  I, on the other hand, struggled to grasp the smallest theorem for years.  I think should tell you I nearly flunked the first semester of Geometry and absolutely failed the second.  I didn’t care at the time because I had the math credits I needed.  This math teacher, however, had no patience at all with me.  He’d get frustrated and disgusted with my lack of any kind of grasp with the subject, then say something demoralizing.  I don’t think he intended to hurt me ‘cuz he really was a nice dude, but he just couldn’t fathom how I couldn’t see with ease the inner workings of math logic.

I breezed through English and writing composition though.

Years later, a kid brought a geometry problem to his/her folks and I got it!  It finally made sense to me, six years later.  I know, I know, I’m really slow, but I got so excited that I could understand it, I almost danced a jig–and I don’t dance.

Last night I watched the movie “August Rush” and realized again what an incredible burden we place on each other many times.  Though the question,  “Why can’t you be more like me?” should never cross our lips, it slips out in subtle, almost imperceptible ways.  The reason I can’t be like you and you can’t be like me is simple:  you’re probably an eye or hand I’m the vocal chords or something insignificant like that.  Or it could be that I’m the nose and you’re the foot.  If one of us turns to the other and actually gets all huffy about our differences, we forget why two hands mirror one another–God made it this way to compliment and support one another.

The eye cannot say to the hand,  “I don’t need you!”  And the head cannot say to the feet,  “I don’t need you!”  1 Corinthians 12:21.

Isn’t it strange the church preaches conformity to the point of everyone performing the same function or giving greater honor to those who perform certain functions while forgetting the janitors, movers, and other people in jobs like this?  The girl who does your nails gives you a gift of beauty you can’t accomplish yourself, therefore she is an artist of great worth.  That man who pumps your gas or changes your oil should be complimented and appreciated for his willingness to work at a really dirty job.  Those who maintain our roads deserve pats on the back because they expose themselves to toxic fumes from the asphalt yet do their job well anyway.

Yet we honor the prophets, teachers and others like them above those who actually oil society and keep it moving.  Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy postulated in a humorous way how the ancestors of our race actually were the janitors, phone installers, etc. of another planet shipped off to crash land somewhere else by the intellectuals, poets and literati of their world.  The former thrived on earth, while the latter caught a disease and all died because there weren’t any people there who disinfected stuff left.

I’ve read many times how Einstein would leave the house without pants if his assistants forgot to remind him to put them on.  He never changed this “problem” for some reason.  I dare say this man was probably one of the greatest intellectuals of our time, yet he needed others to keep him grounded and paying attention to those things he naturally missed or ignored.

We need each other to balance our souls.  Those gifted with math do the equations for those without that skill struggle to do; those who know the words, say them for those who only have the math.  The hand cannot be an eye but who cares?  We compliment and help each other as the Body of Christ.  We’re here to learn to become one body, to grow into a unified front and follow the direction of our Master, the head.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Balance of Souls”

  1. tlc4women Says:

    This was the biggest hinderance to starting a women’s ministry in the beginning for me. I couldn’t do it the status quo way and I didn’t want to. I wanted the ministry to flourish not because we complimented each other and formed a clique but because we dug around in our heart and pulled out some weeds that were cluttering the life we could have. We have a different sort of ministry now, but one that honors all of our differences and doesn’t worry about whose the least and the greatest. That all changes moment by moment.

  2. The Compliment « Jonny’s Habit Says:

    […] Jonny’s Habit Hopefully devoted… « The Balance of Souls […]

Leave a Reply

