The Witnesses

“If I testify about myself, my testimony is not valid.  There is another who testifies in my favor, and I know that His testimony is valid.

“You have sent to John and he has testified to the truth.  Not that I accept human testimony; but I mention it that you may be saved.”  John 5:31-34.

The law states that a man must obtain two to the three witnesses besides himself to support his side of any story.  The Jews knew this and accepted it as par for course—in court.  Yet here Jesus gave them two witnesses they accepted as well as a third evidence as a witness in His miraculous power, and they refused them as insufficient.

Why?  What were they looking for that Jesus didn’t provide?  The common perception and hope of the Messiah for the Jew is cataclysmic change—a complete takeover and Jewish domination of the world.  When Jesus refused to become the conquering hero of the warrior David’s variety, they dismissed Him as nothing but a shooting star or flash in the pan.  The Jews would accept nothing less, in their opinion, than the conquering king.  In their eagerness for the Messiah’s reign they missed Him while looking somewhere else.  Yet what they thought of as less was more because their values were so skewed by human goals and wealth they couldn’t see the truth when it hit them right between the eyes.

It’s a continuous lesson for me to look at the evidence at hand where God works in my life.  Instead of expecting God to work according to my own desires and plans, I’m doing my best to learn His new perspective (which is really the original POV all life was created for) so that I might get in line with what these desires should be.  I’m not good at this anymore than other people but I refuse to give up just because I’m a fallen human being.

The trick to becoming like our Master is to turn our attention to Him in the everything.  It’s easy to say this, isn’t it, but much harder to want to do it, for we have so many things we let get in the way or want to for our own immediate gratification.  I know my saying this makes us sound cheap but the truth is we are…it’s not for nothing God called His people whores to sin.

Jesus used the testimony of three witnesses as it was established by the Law:  1) God the Father through the testimony of Scripture.  2)  John B.  3)  The miracles and teachings.

They dismissed them all.

Human nature hasn’t changed since their time at all.  O, what we focus on might be slightly different in make up but it isn’t really anything all that new.  We must ask ourselves what are we looking for or at so hard we miss the truth about Jesus?  What are we distracted by that can take our eyes off of the reality Christ longs to open to our eyes?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

