More than Enough

When they had all had enough to eat, He said to His disciples,  “Gather the pieces that are left over.  Let nothing be wasted.”  So they gathered them and filled twelve baskets with pieces of the five barley loaves left over by those who had eaten.  John 6:12,13.

Sometimes I’m amazed at how little I believe this story.  O, I have faith that it’s true and that Jesus could do such a thing, but I doubt He would do this for me in any practical way more often than I care to admit.

It’s not like a total unbelief thing, rather it’s circumstantial or situational.  Look at it this way:  Jesus fed over 15, 000 people, right?  Then there’s leftovers enough to feed each disciple for a day.  Now think about the time Jesus also said (in another gospel—specifically Matthew 6:25-35) don’t worry about what to eat, drink or wear then combine these two thoughts.  I worry about earning my bread far too much to be spiritually healthy at times; I worry far too much about the physical limitations I see in myself and the world around me to move out on God’s “impossible” tasks.

We get so tied up in knots over externals we forget the reality of the spiritual world.  If God is spirit and He really made everything, then the deepest truest reality is in the spiritual realm, where we find our real place, truth and supply.  Our physical “reality” masks the truth, disguises the underlying facts behind the curtain of human perception and generally distracts us from what God wants to show us.  I think the war for our souls is not merely about salvation but our freedom from earthly restraints and perceived limitations.

Jesus demonstrated the power 0f the spiritual over the physical by fasting forty days straight.  Most people couldn’t do this two weeks without fainting from hunger or losing concentration.  Some might see it as mind over matter, I beg to differ.  No one can make themselves live past the normal limits of human duration.  Even if someone lives beyond the normal 70 to 80 years, it isn’t mind over matter so much as, chance, attitudes and DNA clocks at work.  Sure a positive attitude will promote health and longevity but even with this one cannot prevent the catastrophic from happening.  Jesus accomplished His forty days by plugging into the spiritual energy bank.

This is something that has been rolling around in my head for a long time so I’m gonna’ think out loud for a moment.

If God created food for humans, then made them need food as means to rejuvenating their systems and keeping them not only alive but energetic and productive, then the true source of energy is God Himself.  In other words the fruit, nuts and grains we were intended to eat might contain the necessary ingredients to keep us alive but it was God putting His own life force into them that enables them to do so in reality.  Therefore, if we were to plug back into Christ in a more direct sense, our lives could be sustained indefinitely without the use of physical food, because the source of the fruit’s energy is the surest source of sustenance.

I don’t think I’d know how to be this connected or if my faith could get past a growling stomach or extremely dry mouth, I do believe it to be true since Jesus proved it possible.  Yet one thing I can practice without a doubt is knowing He will supply all my needs according to His riches in Christ Jesus.  Which means to me that no matter what my situation, I am in His hands as long as I turn myself over to Him as completely as I can.  Grace covers and enables both my ability to give myself to Him and that which I have no power to hand over.

This tells me, then, that when I come up against a lack of funds for bills, I can trust the Almighty to bring about the necessary solution to the problem, provided I am willing to walk through the open doors He presents.  God’s will and supply is contingent on our response to both; He will not force us to receive His gifts.  If we are lazy, wanting to be spoon-fed, we will wait a long time for it to happen because God’s Word makes it quite clear He won’t honor those who aren’t industrious within their means to be so.

Yet this also suggests strongly to my mind that when our whole lives are placed in His hands (as best we can give them to Him), He honors that commitment and provides for us as the need arises.  In other words, we can trust He is working in any and every situation for us as we submit to His perspective about all things.  And that very attitude is the key, I believe, to knowledge of the Holy One’s will and purpose:  We have to be submitted to Him in order for the blessings to reach us.  Being submitted is the attitude of being open to something or someone—in this case Jesus.

Some have taken the promise that God will supply our needs as a ticket out of trials, but no where in the NT (or Scripture in general) does it promise this.  Instead Jesus promised He would sustain us through the trials so that we would still be standing at the end.  The Jews who ate the food provided from five loaves and two fish missed the lesson they were supposed to glean because they were too focused on earthly glory and victory to see the spiritual reality in plain sight.  The needs of the earth are not a problem for God as far as supply and demand go, whereas the spiritual is for all of us.  We miss the connection to Life so often because our belief system is tied to physical realities far too much.  While these physical truths remain valid, since God created them, they are not the whole picture and therefore only part of the truth we must grasp before we will see the universe as it really is.

The point of Christ’s mission to earth was to inspire us to believe He is more than enough for all our needs, wants and aspirations.  Once we attain the spiritual perspective, our physical reality comes into balance.  Jesus is more than enough…just remember the twelve baskets full of pieces after He fed several thousand people.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “More than Enough”

  1. tlc4women Says:

    Interesting that when we use what we have and walk in obedience to the order there is an inexplicable abundance! Gotta love serving our Lord!

Leave a Reply

