More on Glory to God

I do not hide Your righteousness in my heart; I speak of Your faithfulness and salvation.  I do not conceal Your love and Your truth from the great assembly.  Psalm 40:10.

A friend of mine on Facebook thanked another friend for giving her Psalm 40 as a reference, and as I read it it occurred to me that glory to God means more than just acknowledging is or what He’s done, it’s also about being unafraid to belong to Him.

What I mean is this:  God is my Creator, but He’s also my confidante, friend, companion, the only one who knows my mind, history and loves me anyway, and the Lord of my life in that His boundaries become mine as well.  In this context, any fear to let others know of my affiliation would not only be hypocritical but a slap in the face to my relationship with Him.

Isn’t it funny that we can gush and be enthusiastic about so many things and people who matter to us but in our “witness” for the Lord it becomes a religious duty rather than a joy.  No, it’s sad to the point of offensive that our witness grows so formal we forget how personal God is to us.

So I too will speak of His glory by repeating His righteousness not only in words but in my life as best I can through submission, then declare His salvation and faithfulness to all who will hear—especially to those of the house of God.  This is truly glorifying God.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “More on Glory to God”

  1. tlc4women Says:

    I too am going to speak loudly about all that he does and he doesn’t do. It’s the only way to live!

Leave a Reply

