Nowhere Else to Go

“You do not want to leave too do you?”  Jesus asked the Twelve.

Simon Peter answered Him,  “Lord, to whom shall we go?  you have the words of eternal life.  We believe and know that you are the Holy One of God.”  John 6:67-69.

I once saw a movie called “An Officer and A Gentleman” years ago where this rebellious young man (played by Richard Gere) joins the Marines in hopes of making something out of himself.  In the course of time we learn he grew up to be a street urchin in Asia (I forget which country) some place, where he learned a street form of kung fu.  Toward the end of the movie his sergeant challenges him to a sparring match in the company’s boxing ring and almost loses when he gets a good kick and puts our man on the floor.

He yelled at him,  “Quit!”

The young soldier yelled back,  “I can’t!”

“What?!!  Why?”  shouted the Sergeant.

“Because I have nowhere else to go!”  The soldier nearly wailed it out.

That scene has stuck with me for a long time and I’m reminded of it everytime I read this passage of Scripture.  I feel like that young soldier on the mats, clutching my groin because I got sucker punched and know I have nowhere else to go but Jesus.  Every other option either turns me into a careless person or an obsessed cause.

I’m not gonna’ make this a long explanation because to me it’s a pretty simple choice:  Either Jesus is the way, truth and life or He isn’t.  I’ve chosen to believe He is, so in my mind I have nowhere else to go.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Nowhere Else to Go”

  1. tlc4women Says:

    I don’t know if I’ve commented about this yet but a man in church came to me a few weeks ago. He asked for prayer. He said that the world was calling him and it was looking ‘pretty good right now. It’s as if it has more to offer than God.’ I told that we needed to pray to that he had a revelation of the kingdom.

    Well said, there is no other option. I don’t want to be anywhere God is not!

Leave a Reply

