And It was Night

As soon as Judas had taken the bread, he went out.  And it was night.  John 13:30.

I’m not sure if John is being dramatic or simply speaking to Jesus’ teaching about evil deeds being best done in the dark.  Whatever the case, it struck me that he made a special effort to mention it was night.

It might not have any significance other than John just being creative, but it seems to me he had a purpose in mentioning it.  I can’t prove it, of course, but the fact he takes a sentence to paint the setting, tells me it was important for us to know about it.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “And It was Night”

  1. tlc4women Says:

    I have always read this passage as dark not in terms of time but in terms of absence of light. Now you are making me think about why I think this!

Leave a Reply

