Counselor AKA Spirit of Truth

“When the Counselor comes, whom I will send to you from the Father, the Spirit of truth who goes out from the Father, He will testify about me.  And you also must testify for you have been with me from the beginning.”  John 15:26, 27.

The Mission continues to this day.  The Spirit in the world inspires polarizing reactions.  In the rejection field we find indifference, out right rebellion and everything in between.  In the acceptance category we see rudimentary confession to downright fanaticism.

His name is Counselor for a good reason because  He gives good counsel since He speaks the truth.  I know so many viewpoints surrounding this character in the Godhead that I wonder what to think sometimes…that is until I come to this chapter and realize the Spirit’s primary purpose is not to wow the public with miraculous stage shows or to act like a babel fish, but to guide us into all truth.  Herein lies the clearest evidence of the Spirit’s presence in our lives:  If we are living according to the Word of God.

All the other manifestations are nice and fun yet don’t really match up in priority to this one.  When I hear someone speaking in tongues (and I don’t judge whether they are or not because I don’t have the gift), I ask them one question:  Has the truth of Jesus affected your life in a drastic way for change?  Any other answer besides a firm “yes”, along with a demonstrated attitude contrast, leaves me doubting their grasp of what the Spirit does.

Christianity is not a circus act to impress the world with our pyrotechnics, instead we follow the testimony of Paul who said,  Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life, to mind your own business and to work with your hands, just as we told you, so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody.  1 Thessalonians 4:11, 12.  The testimony of a quiet, self-contained life speaks more loudly than all the preaching in the world—especially if we mind our own business.

So I will believe you have the Spirit in spades, more likely, if you show me love, kindness, respect, patience, gentleness, etc, than if you speak in the tongues of men and angels cuz I see nothing in the latter that really demonstrates the change in character.  The gospel message is not about salvation from death alone but sin as well.  We are saved from our sin not for the purpose of continuing it.

I speak with authority to this issue since I am a sinner being saved by grace.  Grace which is given for the main purpose of saving me from my sinful habits and cravings for anything or any Way outside of the God’s.  Everything filters through the cross, which has on the other side eternal life and a renewed, changed mind.

That last sentence in our text commands the disciples to share what they know.  That’s all a testimony is, folks, sharing what we know.  Those who think they must have some crazy conversion story where they were drugged out or in jail is simply ludicrous.  If all of us are honest with those who want to know, we can tell them of how lost we felt, speak to the sin that so easily entangles us then demonstrate how much God has changed not only our lives but perspective.

The disciples went out into the world and testified to what they knew about their Master.  Like He said, they had been with Him from the beginning and saw all the miracles as well as quiet personal moments.  They affected the world beyond what any of them imagined or expected.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Counselor AKA Spirit of Truth”

  1. tlc4women Says:

    This is my sin. I don’t mind my own business.

  2. jonnysoundsketch2 Says:

    What do you mean by you don’t mind your own business? You’ve been nothing but cautious when talking to me about my business, which means I don’t see you as nosy or getting in my face at all.

    I guess I don’t know how you act around your family, friends and acquaintances but online you’re careful—at least I’ve found you to be.

  3. tlc4women Says:

    I’m careful with everyone but when I see something I say something. I don’t live my life quietly. Not with unbelievers but with church members. I try to measure my words but I see other pastors who say nothing unless they’re asked outright. I fail at that!

  4. jonnysoundsketch2 Says:

    Susan, the prophet in the Bible spoke the truth to people. You are not nosy, you don’t put spy cameras in people’s lives but when their dirt becomes noticeable in the gathering, you say something. That is right, good and your job.

    Other people (pastors included) may have different methods but God uses you as you are where you are for a good purpose. The “good cop/bad cop” technique does work and may be that’s your job to be tough and no nonsense with others.

    If you approach them with love, acceptance and grace, your words are those of your Master not your own—especially if you speak truth. I don’t know where you’ve made mistakes in this, but mistakes are not necessarily sin in my view but clumsy attempts to learn how to do something. If you do your best to be gentle and compassionate with those you rebuke, then you are in the will of the Lord.

    A pastor’s job is a touchy tough balancing act between letting people grow away from the sin that trips them up and keeping them accountable. If you aren’t perfect at it, join the club, because those who stay silent many times wish they had the guts to speak.

    If you are a speaker of truth, then you have the prophetic gift for that what prophets did. Learning tact and godly methods of approach are learning curves not included in the gift.

    Courage, sis.

Leave a Reply

