Where I Am

“Father, I want those You have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory You have given me because You loved me before the creation of the world.”  John 17:24.

I just thought Jesus’ request was an interesting insight into His mind.    In a way, He’s like any other friend I know who wants to show off his dad’s cool car or the new bike he just got.  The disciples were His friends, not just students, close buddies, people He ate with, slept out in the open with, talked to about mundane things like a rock in the sandal or the weather affecting some activity.  He shared His heart with these guys and wanted to let them in on His “glory” which translates as who He is in the original context, His kingdom off earth or in another dimension all together and generally the joy of His company throughout eternity.

He’s eager for us to come hang out too, which is amazing to me.  The God of the universe is anxious for us to see all the cool things He can make, to show off in the most child-like way (that unself-consciousness of celebrating the thing rather than desiring street cred from it) the wonders of creation.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Where I Am”

  1. tlc4women Says:

    It really shows you how much he wants relationship with us. It’s so touching really when you think about it.

    • jonnysoundsketch2 Says:

      It’s the only religion where the God of creation or just the one in charge of us wants to be personal. This fact makes me biased, I know, but I want it to be true.

  2. tlc4women Says:

    He’s the only one who came back for us. The other professed gods of other religions didn’t risk it all to be one again. I can’t help but be forever grateful and forever in love with that comforting thought, that we are loved that much. Makes whatever cost there is worth it.

Leave a Reply

